Non-Deductible IRA or Taxable?

Midpack

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I contribute to a traditional 401(k) with matching at work. I am not eligible for a Roth IRA. I have been contributing the max to a traditional IRA for quite a few years, with no tax deduction, and I am starting to wonder if it's likely to my advantage. I've always "reasoned" that if tax rates, capital gains, etc. all stay the same and my retirement income/withdrawals put me in a lower tax bracket, I should come out money ahead in the traditional IRA. But my time horizon is up to 16 years (70½) and I don't see how tax rates and/or capital gains won't increase substantially (I once assumed they wouldn't change appreciably). Just asking for a second opinion on non-deductible IRA's vs leaving the money in taxable?

If it matters, my holdings are all low-expense (index) mutual funds, almost no trading - rebalance with new money, and I have access to the universe of options either way. And I'm about 2/3 taxable, 1/3 sheltered already if it matters.

I'm almost all taxable, 401k is not offered to folks in my income range at work. I have a deferred comp plan to get the match. All other retirement related investments go into the taxable...but I'm mostly adding to the munis to bring my AA into line for FIRE in a couple years...they aren't taxable anyway, and I've been buying in at 6% +/- yields. Frankly, the munis are worrying me just a little, as I don't know what happens when a state or municipality goes bust, but I have a hard time believing that I would not recover those investments (how would a bankrupt city or state be able to reneg on debt to its own taxpayers?...). FWIW

R

I've always seen that long-term cap gains tax rates have been lower than ordinary income tax rates, so I would vote for taxable account and not the non-deductible traditional IRA.