Join Early Retirement Today

Older car: to fix or not to fix?
Old 11-04-2016, 08:17 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Older car: to fix or not to fix?

I've been driving a trusty little luxury coupe for the past 17 years (when I bought it new), and it's been fairly maintenance free for the most part over the years. As luck would have it, though, now it's developed a serious problem that I just found out will cost around $1,100 to fix (broken shifter mechanism). If I were planning to keep the car another year or two, this would be a no-brainer. But I'd recently starting thinking seriously about selling or trading in this car for a much newer one of some variety. I had begun the process of researching the various makes and models I'd be interested in and had looked into the blue book value of the 17-year old car to see what I might be able to get for it. My plan was to shop around over the next few months and have the whole project done by January or February.

Now, with this expensive fix needed on the old car, I'm not sure what the best strategy should be. Do I go ahead with the fix and then try to sell it to a 3rd party for the highest dollar amount possible... maybe even somehow incorporating part of the $1,100 repair cost into the asking price? The trade-in market value is only about $1,500, so sinking $1,100 into the car just to be able to trade it for a few hundred bucks more doesn't seem to make much sense.

I am leaning towards going ahead with the repair and then doing a private-party sale. Kelley BB says I could get $2,300 for it, and I feel there's a decent chance I could get a few hundred more considering how it will have a brand new shifter and all new spark plugs and ignition coils (an unrelated repair from earlier this year).