Online banking--any issues?

Luvdogs

Recycles dryer sheets
I have some CDs in online banks but I'm thinking about changing my emergency fund over there. (not CD)

Any issues with them?

Haven't touched it in at least five, maybe ten years and it's sitting in Chase at 0.03%. I realize it is there just for emergencies--but we could cover most outside of the emergency fund also.

CIT is at 1.55%, GS at 1.50. Any problems getting the funds if you need them--say within a couple of days?

I look at Bankrate to compare but are there others out there with a little better rate?

Thanks.

I've been using Barclays Online Savings for about 5 years. Transfers to my checking account at a local bank generally take about 2 business days.

No problems at all, other than I have to transfer to a real bank to spend it as that is my habit.

Note: Ally bank will let you withdraw money from an ATM, so that is closer to a "real" bank and would be useful if the Internet was down.

Now if they would allow me to download and print the money I'd be all set :D

Transfers between banks take 2 to 3 days. Generally in 2 days funds are available. The process to do this are easy as long as you link both accounts which may take a few days to accomplish.

- Rita

I've used ING Direct (now Capital One 360), Amazon Payments, and Discover Bank, without any issues. ING Direct took the full 7 days to transfer, and I noticed Capital One 360 takes just about the same. Their savings rates have plummeted since the switch, so I've stopped using them. Discover Bank transfers in just a couple days, both ways, and they have great customer service.

I've been with USAA for 13+ yrs. No problem with an 'online' account --- no branch within Northern California. Bill pay is automatic, ATMs all over & they reimburse 1st 10 charges a month for using another banks' ATM, same day credit for transfers to my Schwab bank account which is also online only. You won't 'see' a difference with debit or credit accounts! :)