Opinions on my ROTH IRA holding and investing

_MEOW_

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi All,

So I am completely new to investing, I had worked a relatively low-wage job for years and didn't have any extra money to invest. Although looking back I wish I had been smarter and opened a Roth IRA even a few thousand here and there would've been better than nothing.

Anyway, I just started a new job in early April/May of 2019. At the time I had 10-11k in savings. Almost a 1yr and 1/2 later I now have 65k in savings and would have 70k, but maxed out my Roth IRA with the 6k limit for 2020 :) At times it's been difficult I have been tempted to impulse purchase needless items, but ultimately convince myself the $75-100 spent on clothes/shoes/ect... could be invested (I have shoes that are perfectly fine or clothes I never wear). The 65k I have in savings I realize is doing nothing and could be invested, but I am saving for a house in the 275-325k range. So I have 20% saved as a down-payment basically but my aim is to save 40-45% which I should have within the next year and change. The working plan is to put 30% down and have 10-15% as my emergency mortgage fund. Ideally planning to pay off the house within 5yrs so not sure having a emergency fund matters but just for peace of mind. I could put 10k I into some short-term investment, which brings me to my questions below:

If I open a brokerage account what should I invest in? And are my Roth IRA holdings a good long-term investment or should I change these up a bit? My Roth IRA holdings are as follows but I feel they're a bit redundant. Of the $6000 I have invested it's broken down as follows:

FXAIX - Fidelity 500 Index Fund ($3,000)
FNILX - Fidelity Zero Large Cap Index Fund ($2,500)
FZROX - Fidelity Zero Total Market Index ($500)

For 2021 I plan to put more into these three funds or perhaps consolidate keeping FXAIX and consolidating FNILX/FZROX then add something else into the mix? Thoughts?

Last edited: