Options Strategies to Protect Portfolio

yabking

Dryer sheet wannabe
Longtime member, rare poster.

We are 4.5 years away from ER.

We have a fairly balanced AA between stocks, bonds, cash, and real estate, and are on a glide path that all models I have run and even a financial advisor say will allow us a comfortable retirement.

Without getting into the politics or specifics of it, I believe that the next four years may be extremely volatile for securities, and I am trying to figure out how to protect the securities portion of our assets.

I do not want to sell because that would lead to a very significant tax hit.

Basically, I am looking for advice on an options strategy that would protect our portfolio between a 15% and a 50% decline in value. I also recognize that this insurance will not be cost free.

I have very little experience in options trading, but am willing to try it out a bit over the next couple months to get a feel for what it is like.

Many thanks for any ideas.

Not quite enough information in your post.

If you can give me the exact date of the market decline and how much (% is ok) it will decline, I can devise a very good option strategy to protect your accounts.

You can buy a put option. That gives you the right to sell a security at a specified price at a specified date (or before) in the future. If you have mixed equities, an S&P put might cover your risk. Otherwise, you have to buy a put on each security.

You can sell a call option. That give the buyers the right to buy, but does not give you the right to sell, at a specified date in the future. It may not protect you as much, but would bring in income in the meantime. That income may offset any downsides of your security.

With you buy calls and puts, you are paying for time and volatility - and commissions. Generally a poor way to make money. Selling calls or puts, and letting the options expire, lets you make money on time and saves commissions.