Owning property in a foreign country - who had done it - how?

Disappointed

Recycles dryer sheets
DW was talking about buying a condominium in her motherland, I have never done this before.

For those that own property in a foreign country, how did you handle the financial end of it? I assume one can wire transfer the money to an escrow account and handle it from there?

Also, wonder if there is a requirement to report the transaction to the IRS or any other government agencies?

Thanks,

MP

Hi. It is really important to have a good lawyer on the ground who is bilingual. He/she can handle an escrow account. One key question is whether you are doing it all cash or needing a mortgage - that's where the IRS question comes in, not when you buy but when you sell as you need to figure the foreign exchange gain/loss on paying off the note. If it is a gain, that's income that year. Otherwise the only reporting is when you sell on capital gains, Unless you are also opening a local bank account to handle routine expenses and repairs (for example you don't want to wire money for electricity each month! You'll want that handled automatically locally). Foreign bank accounts get you into fbar territory https://www.irs.gov/businesses/smal...t-of-foreign-bank-and-financial-accounts-fbar and of course if you rent it out you have to report the rental income both in the country where it is earned and in the us. My experiences have been in the uk where I was living, so I had the bank account infrastructure already, and France where I did everything long distance. My lesson is doing it long distance is work - you need to go in thinking it will be a significant hobby and be willing to put the time in. If you imagine it will be all smooth and easy, you will end up stressed out.

Depending upon the value, you may be required to report it yearly to the FINCEN and the IRS, especially since you will have a bank account in the foreign country.