Poll: What was your (former) profession?

What do (did) you do for a living?

• Doctor/Nurse/Medical Tech

Votes: 8 4.2%
  • Lawyer/Paralegal

Votes: 13 6.8%
  • Business Owner

Votes: 4 2.1%
  • Accountant/Financial Analyst

Votes: 12 6.3%
  • Executive/MegaCorp Manager

Votes: 15 7.9%
  • IT Professional

Votes: 39 20.5%
  • Salesperson/Marketing Professional

Votes: 8 4.2%
  • Financial Professional / Snake Oil Salesman

Votes: 6 3.2%
  • Journalist/Writer

Votes: 2 1.1%
  • Carpenter/Plumber/Electrician/Other Building Trades

Votes: 1 0.5%
  • Engineer

Votes: 48 25.3%
  • Other

Votes: 24 12.6%
  • Military

Votes: 7 3.7%
  • Blue Collar Employee

Votes: 3 1.6%

• Total voters

ScaredtoQuit

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm curious. With such a high level of financial acumen on this Board, how many people are actually in a financial field. Just what do you do? (or what did you used to do?)

Hey Scared, thanks for the snake oil salesman choice! :D Makes all those nights I'm studying Estate Planning right now seem more worthwhile.

BTW, my older CFP boss just left the office to sit in on an apptment his wife has with an annuity guy that wants to sell her some junk (her Pharma job had a automatic rollover to an annuity for some portion of her retirement) and the salesman doesn't know he's a CFP. He will get a lot of entertainment from it, I'm sure! Boy, to get him on a roll about how bad annuities suck....

Sarah

Actually, I have great respect for fee-only planners. It's those insurance people who masquerade as financial planners that get under my skin. My DW is a Customer Service person for a large insurer and she comes home daily with stories about people in their eighties and nineties who have been hoodwinked into buying annuities. And you know, it's not like I'm against annuities either. But people living off social security and a nest egg of just a couple of hundred dollars don't really have any reason to avoid taxes!