Join Early Retirement Today

quarterly tax payments have to equal?
Old 10-23-2020, 03:22 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

quarterly tax payments have to equal?

Hello, this is my first year to pay quarterly taxes (retired last year). My plan was to not withhold taxes from any of my withdrawals/dividends/rollovers (to roth). Then pay 4 equal payments of $16,500 to cover us up to the $326,000 top end of the 24% tax bracket. I have made three quarterly payments to date (each $16,500). I was planning to pay the 4th quarterly payment of $16,500 in January. I just received a distribution from a deferred compensation account and they held out $10,000 for taxes. CAN I CHANGE MY 4TH PAYMENT TO $6,500 TO HIT MY TAX TARGET? Or will the IRS make me fill out extra forms if my 4th payment is less than the previous three? If I pay the full $16,500, then I will have overpaid by $10,000. thanks,
Ole Red 29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-23-2020, 03:28 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...