Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Question about annuitization of TIAA
Old 02-08-2009, 06:06 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Question about annuitization of TIAA

Hi all-
I realize there is a large group here that dislikes annuities, so please do not state your opinion of annuities. I'd like some advice about whether to annuitize an annuity now. Here goes.

I just retired from high school teaching. I'm 62 and single. I have a rather large after tax annuity that I've been contributing to for many years. There was a time (last year) that if I annuitzed then, I'd have a very good annuity income. With interest rates falling dramatically, annuitizing now might be a mistake. Do you agree, or are you of the opinion that when you decide to retire, you can't time the retirement to interest rates? When it's time, it's time.

There is a "graded" option and a "standard" option with TIAA. Last year the graded showed a signinicant increase in yearly payouts over 25 years. Now the "graded" shows a measely increase over 25 years, AND it is much closer to the "standard" option in terms of monthly payouts. I've been told that TIAA has invested in long-term bonds and other investments with low interest rates, so that is why the "graded" shows a small increase. If I delayed annuitization for a year or two, and interest rates rose significantly, would that really affect my annuity income since TIAA has long term low interest investments?