Quicken 2018 available

I don’t like the subscription model, but will probably sign on once my Quicken 2016 sunsets. Downloading and matching transactions makes balancing the accounts so much easier / faster that it would be silly for me to not pay the thirty bucks per year. My time is worth at least that much.

There may be ways to manually get around the sunset issue by importing. For stock prices google finance portfolio has the option to download an OFX file. For transactions most financial sites have an option to download OFX files ( Schwab does not ) or CSV data files. there are conversion tool for CSV to QIF/OFX.

Or you can do it manually as I have been doing since April with my 2014 version. It takes 15 minutes or so for me to input investment transactions and update quotes at the end of the month.

Just as an FYI : I purchased a subscription today with the intent of deciding in a year if I want to continue the subscription or just use the limited features. Quicken automatically sets your account to auto-renew at whatever price is current at the time of renewal. You could change every account setting online except for the auto-renew option. To remove auto-renew you have to call customer service which resulted in a very long wait to reach a representative then the representative put me on hold for several minutes before finally taking my account off of the auto-renew status.

It's reported by a user on Quicken's support forum that Quicken has made change. The user reported that since installing Q18 the auto renew was set to on, but when he logged into his Quicken account this morning the auto renew is now set to "off". I do not have Q18 so can't validate but maybe someone else here can.