Join Early Retirement Today

Rebalancing and Firecalc
Old 01-02-2014, 11:07 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Rebalancing and Firecalc

With the run up in stocks over the last several years, I was wondering how retired folks have changed their portfolios and goals.

Seems like there are only a few options. Given an acceptable Firecalc success percentage, as the portfolio increased in value, and you are one year closer to death so your time frame is less:

1). Maintain current goals, reduce risk, selling stocks, increasing cash or bonds.

2). Rebalance to same AA, increase goals such as current spending or legacy gifts (an increase in Firecalc % above what is acceptable seems like a way of saying you're going to continue to LBYM and leave more stuff in your estate).

3). Do nothing, resulting in higher risk portfolio, and potential rewards of significantly increasing your goals.

I'm in my first year of retirement, feel like I've been handed a windfall with this years market results. I'm doing option 1 above, and increasing cash holdings.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!