Residence in no income tax state??

green night

Recycles dryer sheets
Interested in your thoughts. It seems like a simple math question but maybe i'm missing some of the calculations. Would love to hear anyone that did a similar calc / executed a similar plan and if they think it was worth it.

I'm a Michigan Resident. Michigan has 4.25% income tax and that applies to pensions, capital gains, dividends etc.

I'm sitting on about $950K of capital gains if i sold. I have $1.5MM in traditional IRAs, 403Bs, etc. My wife and i have $60K in annual pensions as well. $40K in annual dividends in our taxable account. Michigan does not tax soc sec though.

Our game plan has always been to live in florida a couple months a year. As i look at the situation though it seems like we should make that 6 months a year and make florida our residence. I know residence is more complicated than that but i don't want to get into all that ... assuming i qualify as a florida resident.

I'll pay higher (about double) property taxes not qualifying for "homestead" rates in Michigan. For our size of house and where we want to move too ... is likely to be $10,000 annually incremental. That might be a little high but pretty fair.

So, the way i'm looking at it I have $10,000 annual property taxes from Michigan if I resident in Florida. On the capital gains, let's assume i take those gains .. that's $42,500 in one time taxes. Let's assume that i pay taxes over yearly at a $4,250 in pension / dividends in taxes. A 5% withdraw rate on the IRAs / 403Bs and then taxed at 4.25% is roughly $3200 annually ... and that's now, not 11 years when I'm 59 1/2. So, it seems like the more my money grows over the next 11 years ... Florida will continue to become a more and more attractive tax situation. Today, it's pretty close but the advantage is still to go to Florida.

Comments are appreciated ... TIA