Roth Conversion/Recharacterization strategy finally sunk in

RunningBum

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
I've been whittling away at my tIRA for a few years with partial conversions, trying to smooth out my income tax rate over the years, and avoid RMDs later which would probably push me into a higher income tax, especially with more SS benefits getting taxed.

Every year I try to get the conversion amount just right, to the top of the 15% bracket or the edge of the ACA cliff. It's very tough to do since I don't know exactly what my dividends and interest income will be. But I slave to try to get it as close as possible, but every year I either fall short or have to do a small (or not-so-small) recharacterization--usually the latter.

I kept seeing posts here from people who'd convert a larger amount than they know would work, and then recharacterize after doing their taxes. I always dismissed this, thinking recharacterizations are too much trouble. But I inevitably do one anyway, so why go to all the effort.

So this year I finally wised up and converted a larger amount and I know for sure I'll be recharacterizing. It's not that big of a deal and I'm going to do it anyway, so what's the big deal with $10 or $10K on the form? I don't know if it matters but I kept it as simple as possible by converting a holding from the tIRA that I don't already have in the Roth, so I can just rechar part of that holding back. Vanguard will figure it all out anyway.

I love the things you learn here by just opening your eyes and being willing to consider doing something different. I'm going to both optimize my conversion and simplify my life by not tracking my tax situation throughout the year to try to get it perfect in advance. Rather than trying to hit the bulls-eye from a distance, I can shoot an arrow at a huge target, and draw the bulls-eye circle around it after doing taxes next spring.