Roth conversions with ACA

Wille

Dryer sheet aficionado
I have been using ACA for 5 years with an AGI ~$24K. I have been reading the posts of others bumping up their AGI to just under the ACA cliff with Roth Conversions. If I follow that, my ACA annual premium increases $5K and my federal taxes increase $4.4K a year, making this a ~25% cost to do the Roth Conversion (~$40K), and I'd lose the compounding interest of this $9.5K every year. What am I missing? Why are others doing this?

There's a complete description of the 'levers' in the paper referenced in this thread: https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f28/roth-conversion-guide-106285.html

Generally, the idea is to keep your income tax "the same" over your lifetime. This only makes sense if you will be paying high tax rates in the future. For instance, when you are forced to remove tax advantaged funds in your 70's (commonly called the 'tax torpedo' of RMD's).

It's a complicated issue for sure. You should definitely read the paper in the link above.

I'll assume your numbers are correct. You have to try to project what your income and taxes will look like later. If you don't convert, will RMDs push you into a higher tax bracket, make more qualified dividends taxable, and make more of your SS benefit taxable? You may find those things cause a greater than 25% marginal tax rate on the IRA distribution.

Regarding the loss of compounding growth. The direct tax on the conversion makes this a wash if you pay taxes from the conversion money, or slight benefit if you pay the conversion tax from taxable. This is because future growth within the Roth is not taxed, unlike the growth you left in your tIRA. You can verify this with a fairly simple spreadsheet.

Another factor is whether you can get your IRA fully or mostly converted between 65 and 70. At 65 you are on Medicare and not trying to limit income for your ACA subsidy. It helps a lot if you delay SS until 70.