Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Saving for retirement without access to 401k, suggestions?
Old 04-15-2017, 05:14 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Hi early retirement gurus! I'm working for a small bio/tech company, <1 year out of grad school, doing very interesting things with a lot of independence and responsibility and direct influence on the success of the company.

The salary is good, a bit above average for a company of this size in my area, but they essentially don't offer any benefits; no healthcare and no 401k/other.

My issue is that very soon I will have maxed out my rIRA and HSA and will still have ≈$16k in planned savings by the end of the year.

I'm somewhat new to all of this, so I looked in to possibly setting up a solo 401k, but from what I understand my self-employed venture would have to make >$18k in revenue to be able to save as much each year.

Are there any tax advantaged options that exist that an employed person with no 401k access could contribute to beyond the IRA/HSA? Or any other ideas for getting access to a solo 401k with a side gig? Thanks!
investing_for_a_rainy_day is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!