Self Employment

ndfmnlf

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hi,

What's your view of self employment as a quicker route to early retirement? Do you achieve early retirement faster if you were your own boss as opposed to being employed by someone else? This is primarily in the context of self employment in a professional practice (i.e medicine, law, accounting etc). I am currently a self employed physician, but I have been offered an attractive job offer to join a multispecialty group in Sacramento CA. I'm still debating whether this move will hasten or delay my retirement, which I hope to attain in 10 years (I'm 41). I appreciate your inputs, especially from those who faced similiar quandaries in the past. ^-^

ndfmnlf

Self-employment provides many perqs and writeoffs, whereas corporate employment provides long-term pensions and health care. Just one of these tends to lead to longer working life. But is you can get vesting of corporate benefits then you can have the best of both worlds.

I did corpoarate until vesting, then self-employment to FI.

Hi

I am self-employed. It is not something I would recommend unless you have a business that has a high return. I got laid off and I was able to pick up some clients quickly.

What I had going for me:

1. Equity in my home and a couple of rental properties.
2. A client load that allowed me to make more money that my current position. You have to make enough to cover taxes and health Insurance.
3. I already had all my equipment (PC and stuff) I did have to invest into buying some specialized software.
4. A home office area already set up.
5. The best thing is I can choose my clients. That can be a good thing.
Myths:
1. Work shorter hours. Wrong!!! You no longer have the corp support system. If you make a mistake that cost’s your client $$$ You have to eat it. I am just finishing up an 11K lunch! I work more hours (l love what I do and my kids are older).
2. It is easier. Wrong!!! It is just as challenging as my old job.