Software developers, how viable is making your own app?

jyav

Confused about dryer sheets
I'm a web developer and I've daydreamed on the idea of building a web app in my spare time. It would be an idea borne from calling maybe 5 small businesses and finding a solvable pain point. That's the theory of it anyways.

The points that stop me are:

- I don't want to take it full time. I make low 6 figures and prefer that income stream's stability to taking a project full time, unless it booms to some crazy level which is unlikely given the niche nature

- While I could probably find time for dev and upkeep, maybe support too... marketing is a job in itself

- The internet is a high competition medium. Elon Musk says too many people focus on internet businesses. I sort of need to because of my skillset and living conditions (US citizen living in thailand).

I was just curious if other developers ever thought along the same lines and what conclusions or outcomes you may have reached?

You need to determine what your objective(s) are. Are you looking to have it be a real source of income, or primarily a means to just keep your skills up and have something to do?

If you're looking to have it as a steady source of income that you'll need to make ends meet, you're likely going to have a difficult time at it. You're going to be competing for work with folks all around the world. On top of that, others are going to offer the same as you at lower prices...the developer sitting at home in China is going to offer his/her services for less, because they can.

If you've developed, or are looking to develop a new app that is revolutionizing in some way and sell it online in an app store, then definitely go for it. You'll never know unless you try.