Join Early Retirement Today

State income tax return question
Old 12-27-2015, 01:07 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

I retired in Thailand 10 years and decided to return to the states. I do my own taxes using Taxact software. Since I have only lived in Georgia 6 months. The rules I read tend to discuss locally earned income (work, rental) between two or more states.
I have two possible issues.
When I came to Georgia, I only got a 6 month lease on a furnished apartment since I wasn't sure if we wanted to stay here. In the mean time, I did get a GA driver's license because I needed it to buy a car. I don't own any real estate property or worked in Georgia. Am I a resident of Georgia now?
If I am a Georgian resident,
Is there an issue when in 2015 I was a resident of Thailand and now I am in Georgia?
My income only comes from investments and savings, so do I divide my 2015 income by either 365 days or 12 months and then multiple either the number of days or months I have lived in Georgia?
Is that they way it is done?
Thanks for any advice.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!