Join Early Retirement Today

Taxes after Roth conversion. Help!
Old 03-06-2016, 07:36 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Taxes after Roth conversion. Help!

I did a partial conversion of an IRA to a Roth while the market was down in 2015. This is my first time doing a Roth conversion and I am now trying to do our taxes for 2015 and I am a little confused.

I understand that I should fill out form 8606. I think I only need to fill out page 2. Am I reading this right that I don't fill out the amount of the conversion on line 8 of page 1, because I would only have to fill out page 1 if I had also made a contribution to a traditional IRA?

On page 2, I am being thrown by the request to fill in the basis on line 17. For one thing this is an IRA that was from an old work 401k account from 20+ years ago. Actually, it's origins are frankly kind of lost in the mists of time. It was funded entirely with pretax money and has grown tax free, that much I do know. It has been transferred around enough that no one financial institute has the whole picture and much of the transferring was done before I was very savvy, so I have no record either. I think it was about $16,000 when it first was transferred to an IRA and it had grown to about $50,000. I thought I would be paying tax on the full amount of the conversion as they are all dollars that have never been taxed. So is my basis zero on line 17 of page 2 on form 8606. Aarrgg!! I hate taxes!
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!