Join Early Retirement Today

The doubter
Old 05-10-2012, 04:52 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

The doubter

Would like any comments on this. I have been working excessive hours and LBYM for many years despite some lifestyle creep. Came up with an ER plan for about age 55 several years back and then stumbled on this site which gave me some great specific ideas about planning. Now I have read some books, made some spreadsheets, beginning to track spending, and had the "talk" with my wife so she is on board. Despite my resolve and excitement about eventual ER, I live in a world where NO ONE plans to retire early. Talked to coworker yesterday who is 66 and doesn't ever plan to retire. I have two partners in my small business who are over 70 and should retire but won't. Another partner recently passed at age 66, diagnosed with fatal illness but kept saying "don't have enough" and kept working until checked into hospital and died after 2 months. I am beginning to feel like I'm the anomaly, the crazy one for wanting to explore a life outside of work.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!