The reason for FIRE!

cyclone6

Recycles dryer sheets
Last week, my sister and I had to go back to NY to deal with my 96/yo great aunts estate.  The money she managed to accumulate through all those years is one of the reasons I'm now lurking on this board.  (Thank you, Aunt Alma!)  Not being a prude, I found a sheet of paper going through all her things that seems quite appropriate to this board.  The reason for FIRE:

The Golden Years are here at last
I cannot see, I cannot pee
I cannot chew, I cannot screw
My memory shrinks, my hearing stinks
No sense of smell, I look like hell
The Golden Years can kiss my ass

These discussions are wonderful and informative.  But whats going to happen tomorrow, or next year, or three years from now?  Being a meteorologist by trade, I feel pretty damn good if we are right 48 hours out. 

Greenspan.  Bernanke.  Inflation.  Japan 1990.  1929.  2000.  The dollar.

Whats next?  You tell me.  But I do know this...

In 3 years I will be 3 years older.  Approaching the Golden Years.

And they can Kiss my ass!

I love the poem.

Nothing like the death or serious decline of a loved one to make you question your own priorities.

Good luck with FIRE and be sure to drink an occasional toast to Aunt Alma.

i like aunt alma already and she didn't even leave me anything. getting old sucks. i haven't found a way to stop the process but i do manage to offset it--in my mind--with exercise & by refusing to mature. there were no less than 3 comments yesterday by my 16-year-old nephew & 13-year-old niece on me acting younger than my years. i'm not quite sure i knew what they were getting at but i'm pretty sure i couldn't care:::raspberries:::so there.

in my mind i'm still a kid but having inherited mom's arthritis, after a five mile walk along the beach in the morning my right foot foreshadows what's to come. at the gym my weights work is limited not as much by muscles as by arthritic hands & if i swim too hard i notice it in my shoulder as well.