Thoughts on Bullet Share Bond ETFs

johkar

Dryer sheet wannabe
Hello -
Retired about a year ago, and rolled my 401k to a Schwab rollover IRA (rest of our portfolio is at Schwab.) My 401K is what we have always thought of as our 'safe' money, meaning we have kept it invested in non-risky, guaranteed return type things.

At the time of my rollover, I bought all CDs, getting between 2.5 and 3% and was happy with that. Now some of those CDs are maturing, and CD rates are not so good any more.

I have dabbled a little in Invesco's Bulletshare bond ETFs (Each ETF is made up of bonds that all mature in a specific year, ie BSCJ matures in 2019, at which time, the ETF is 'disolved', and my principal plus yield is paid back to me in cash.)

I am a fairly novice investor, but I'll tell you why those appeal to me - easier, cheaper and less default risk than individual bonds, and as long as I hold the ETF until it "matures", (that may not be the correct term) I am guaranteed my principal back, plus hopefully some yield. So it feels like I have some of the security of a CD, although without a guaranteed rate of return. The cons include not a great performance track record, and pretty dismal Morningstar reviews (Yes, I look at those number of stars assigned, and am swayed by that - is that dumb??!)

Would like to hear from you all who are more experienced investors than me, what you think of these types of bond ETFs. Blackrock also issues a similar iShares product. Each year of maturity has a different ticker symbol (IBDC and IBDL are a couple of the iShares examples.)

More background on me - right now we are 42% equities, 39% cash and 19% bonds. Cash is high due to a good amount of CDs purchased while rates were high a year ago. Would like to lessen cash and increase bonds. We are comfortable with equities where they are.

Current bond holdings include PIMIX and JMSIX. Thought about doing more of these, but afraid that might be too risky for our 'safe' money.!!