Tracking Net Worth and Compound Interest Calculating

Blue531

Recycles dryer sheets
I've been tracking my net worth on a monthly basis since 1999--the first year in which it first went positive. I had been investing in my company 401k for a year and saving money aside from it, too. I have found tracking NW to be a simple yet effective exercise that kept me motivated and on the steady path to financial freedom. I would suggest to anyone starting out to begin logging theirs. It is very empowering to see one's wealth increase little by little over time, assuming, of course a person is working toward decreasing spending and increasing investments or at the least maintaining spending and increasing investments. I would also suggest using a compound interest calculator or a 401k calculator and play with the numbers as a motivational tool. Seeing how compounding of my money could grow over time was also a very effective tool for me. And what an amazing one it is!

What exercises, tools or the like have helped you on your journey to financial freedom and independence?

I track my net worth quarterly just to see how things are going. This quarter it didn’t change much because of Roth conversions and the estimated taxes that go with it. Buying a new BMW didn’t help either [emoji16]. I don’t count cars or stuff in net worth. Cash depletion was replaced by real estate increases, so investable assets are down a bit. A couple of my speculative stocks took it on the chin too, but they are history. I’m done with speculation play and back to a solid strategy of a mix of dividend growth and growth oriented stocks.
I also update my twenty year income/expense estimates spreadsheet quarterly. I begin social security this month and our first month of Medicare is next month. Healthcare expenses should go down significantly from now on.

When I was working, I used to update my excel sheet on friday payday mornings, every 2 weeks. All manual, but I enjoyed the exercise of it.