Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Transfer in kind between accounts at Fidelity?
Old 01-29-2023, 07:16 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Transfer in kind between accounts at Fidelity?

I'd like to transfer DP's RMDs in kind from her Fidelity IRA to her Fidelity brokerage account, but it appears to me that the only way to do this is to call up Fidelity and ask them to do it for us.


Has anyone managed to do this online?
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-29-2023, 08:22 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: The Great Wide Open
Posts: 3,421
Yes, it took me a minute to figure out but yes, you can. Under customer service tab, go to retirement section, then to transfer money. the account inventory will show up, I did it this week.
__________________
Give me Liberty or give me Death. Patrick Henry
Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2023, 06:29 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winemaker View Post
Yes, it took me a minute to figure out but yes, you can. Under customer service tab, go to retirement section, then to transfer money. the account inventory will show up, I did it this week.
Thank you, I will try it this week!
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2023, 09:17 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
jollystomper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5,157
An issue I ran into that might be a factor. I had a very old tIRA account, opened in the late 1990s. I could not do any transfers from it to my other accounts without calling. This account was (according to the phone reps) in some type of "old" format that did not permit online transfers - likely due to some software technology issue. I had to open a new IRA account and then call and have them transfer my holdings from the old IRA account into it. Once that was done I was able to perform online transfers.
__________________
FIREd date: June 26, 2018 - "This Happy Feeling, Going Round and Round!" (GQ)
jollystomper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 09:46 AM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Thanks, JollyStomper, my tIRA at Fidelity is only a few years old - it is a rollover from my 403(b).
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 09:51 AM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Hi Winemaker, I went to Customer Service, then Retirement. There is a transfer link towards the top, but that just takes me to the regular transfer page, which only permits transfers from the Core position. If on the Retirement page I click on "retirement withdrawals" and then on the "Withdraw from your IRA" button, it once again goes to the regular transfer page.

Were you able to transfer from your IRA to a brokerage account in kind? By that I mean move x number of shares of stock or a fund from your IRA directly into your brokerage account without having to sell the stock or fund in your IRA first?

This is what I would like to do. We don't need to spend most of her RMD, so I would like to just keep it invested, albeit in a different account.

I know I could sell it in the IRA, transfer the cash, and then buy it in the Brokerage account, but was trying to avoid that.
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 11:20 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 218
An in-kind IRA distribution has to done by phone or form per Fidelity's reply in a Reddit thread. For some reason, a Roth conversion can be done in-kind online (on a computer, not in the app).
Done is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2023, 03:45 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: The Great Wide Open
Posts: 3,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by PointBreeze View Post
Hi Winemaker, I went to Customer Service, then Retirement. There is a transfer link towards the top, but that just takes me to the regular transfer page, which only permits transfers from the Core position. If on the Retirement page I click on "retirement withdrawals" and then on the "Withdraw from your IRA" button, it once again goes to the regular transfer page.

Were you able to transfer from your IRA to a brokerage account in kind? By that I mean move x number of shares of stock or a fund from your IRA directly into your brokerage account without having to sell the stock or fund in your IRA first?

This is what I would like to do. We don't need to spend most of her RMD, so I would like to just keep it invested, albeit in a different account.

I know I could sell it in the IRA, transfer the cash, and then buy it in the Brokerage account, but was trying to avoid that.
When I click on "Withdraw from your IRA", it takes me to "Your guide to Required Minimum Distributions". and lists all my tIRAs, inherited IRAs, and Roth IRA accounts. While I am only making a RMD out of my Inherited tIRA at this point, I can transfer in kind. Last week I took a distribution from my tIRA, NOT required, but I was still able to transfer assets in kind to my brokerage account. My inherited IRA requires a RMD, and I was able to transfer in kind as well.
__________________
Give me Liberty or give me Death. Patrick Henry
Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 07:06 AM   #9
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Done View Post
An in-kind IRA distribution has to done by phone or form per Fidelity's reply in a Reddit thread. For some reason, a Roth conversion can be done in-kind online (on a computer, not in the app).
This looks correct. I just did an in kind TIRA to Roth, but when I started a TIRA to brokerage transaction, it didn't look like it could be done. Not sure why this would be.
CincyDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 07:16 AM   #10
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winemaker View Post
When I click on "Withdraw from your IRA", it takes me to "Your guide to Required Minimum Distributions". and lists all my tIRAs, inherited IRAs, and Roth IRA accounts. While I am only making a RMD out of my Inherited tIRA at this point, I can transfer in kind. Last week I took a distribution from my tIRA, NOT required, but I was still able to transfer assets in kind to my brokerage account. My inherited IRA requires a RMD, and I was able to transfer in kind as well.
When I do what you describe, I can only transfer what I have in cash. I get the following message. Maybe there are different rules for different account types?

If you'd like to transfer more money than your current cash available, you may be able to sell investments to free up the additional cash. We can help you do that in the next few steps.
CincyDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 08:01 AM   #11
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 41
Isn't this because you need to purchase the asset in the brokerage account to establish the cost basis on the date of the transfer for future tax purposes? This is not needed when transferring from tIRA to Roth or from one tIRA account to another.
agh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 06:29 PM   #12
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by agh1 View Post
Isn't this because you need to purchase the asset in the brokerage account to establish the cost basis on the date of the transfer for future tax purposes? This is not needed when transferring from tIRA to Roth or from one tIRA account to another.
Iím thinking you might just be correct, agh1. That makes a lot of sense.

So, sell the investment in the tIRA and then buy it again immediately in the brokerage. Will there be any trouble with wash sale rules? Or do I need to wait 31 days to re-purchase?
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 06:37 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 34,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by agh1 View Post
Isn't this because you need to purchase the asset in the brokerage account to establish the cost basis on the date of the transfer for future tax purposes? This is not needed when transferring from tIRA to Roth or from one tIRA account to another.
No, not at all. When they transfer in kind from a tax deferred account to a taxable one, they set the basis on the day transferred using normal IRS rules. Or if itís a mutual fund it would simply be the closing value of the fund that day.

It sounds to me like they simply donít have the mechanisms in place at the moment to do every case online.
__________________
Retired since summer 1999.
audreyh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 06:43 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 34,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by PointBreeze View Post
I’m thinking you might just be correct, agh1. That makes a lot of sense.

So, sell the investment in the tIRA and then buy it again immediately in the brokerage. Will there be any trouble with wash sale rules? Or do I need to wait 31 days to re-purchase?
Just call in, you don’t need to do the extra work. Transfer in kind.

And for future reference, wash sale rules only apply when you book a taxable loss which you can only do in taxable accounts. This doesn’t happen taking a distribution from a tax-deferred account.

If you had sold some of the same fund at a loss in your taxable accounts, and then bought the same within 31 days in any account, then you violate the wash sale rule. So that’s the case to look out for.
__________________
Retired since summer 1999.
audreyh1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 07:31 PM   #15
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
No, not at all. When they transfer in kind from a tax deferred account to a taxable one, they set the basis on the day transferred using normal IRS rules. Or if itís a mutual fund it would simply be the closing value of the fund that day.

It sounds to me like they simply donít have the mechanisms in place at the moment to do every case online.
Youíve been very helpful, Audreyh1 - thank you!
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 02:07 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: The Great Wide Open
Posts: 3,421
Quote:
Originally Posted by CincyDave View Post
When I do what you describe, I can only transfer what I have in cash. I get the following message. Maybe there are different rules for different account types?

If you'd like to transfer more money than your current cash available, you may be able to sell investments to free up the additional cash. We can help you do that in the next few steps.
When the window comes up for me, it lists all the assets, cash and securities. I click on each one and gives me box for the number of shares. After the transfer, it then gives me the basis one or two days later, using the day of transfer price.
__________________
Give me Liberty or give me Death. Patrick Henry
Winemaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 08:03 AM   #17
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Winemaker View Post
When the window comes up for me, it lists all the assets, cash and securities. I click on each one and gives me box for the number of shares. After the transfer, it then gives me the basis one or two days later, using the day of transfer price.
Wow, that's weird. That's how mine worked on the TIRA to Roth transfer, but not on the TIRA to brokerage account transfer.
CincyDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2023, 04:25 PM   #18
Recycles dryer sheets
PointBreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by CincyDave View Post
Wow, that's weird. That's how mine worked on the TIRA to Roth transfer, but not on the TIRA to brokerage account transfer.
Ditto.
__________________
Retired from FT j*b 2017 @ 58, consulted PT, then fully retired 2019 @ 60
AA: 55/38/7 | no pension
Into: spreadsheets, botanical art, hiking, fitness, IPAs, pickleball, reading
Mantras: Carpe diem & Gratitude
PointBreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Transfer In Kind? yakers Active Investing, Market Strategies & Alternative Assets 21 10-04-2022 10:56 PM
IRA: Liquidate or In-Kind Transfer - Merrill Lynch to Vanguard Out_the_Door FIRE and Money 11 11-08-2019 04:05 PM
In Kind Transfer Question Wrkn4wkend FIRE and Money 4 11-15-2013 01:31 PM
MD without residency--- What kind kind of jobs they can do? rsingh6675 Hi, I am... 3 03-22-2011 08:37 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.