Travel/hobbies budget in retirement

We just retired last year as Covid locked us down and are now on our first trip in over a year. Our typical travel spend as we approached retirement was approx $10k a yr total for both of us.

We don’t have a separate budget, just take it out of our ongoing income stream.

And as far as hobbies go, I’m an amateur mountain, gravel and cyclocross bike racer. Wife says I’m actually addicted to the sport. I spend $5-10k total annually on race fees, travel, supplies, bike parts, and the occasional co-pay at the urgent care.

Last edited:
Our travel has varied widely over the 13+ years of retirement. Some years are zero. Overall, much lower than original budget. Traveled so much during prior years, both personal and business that between that and the hassle of air travel we have largely skipped long trips. Once you've seen a few dozen gothic cathedrals, you realize they are mostly the same.

We're in the same boat as you on travel in retirement. For now we're doing more activities like lunch and a museum visit in the city or a day trip to wine country. If we ever feel bored with that we may consider longer distance type travel, but so far we've stayed entertained with local outings. We do travel to visit / take care of family and that budget just kind of is what it is.

For hobbies / entertainment, I spend $500 - $1K a year on annual passes and then a lot of what we do each month is free or cheap. For under $1K a year I can buy winery, zoo, restaurant discounts, theater, senior club, garden, park, museum and seat filler memberships / passes. Reciprocal benefits mean one museum pass gets us into most of the other museums in the state for free. Likewise with the other passes. The theater and seat filler groups usually have unsold tickets every week for live events so we go to events like the symphony or plays for free - whatever is on the various lists for those weeks and usually there are 40 or so events to pick from.