Join Early Retirement Today

treating COLA'd pension as bond allocation??
Old 10-29-2007, 09:27 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

treating COLA'd pension as bond allocation??

Hello,
I'm still sorting through quite a bit of the info archived on this site, and recently obtained ESRbobs latest books WLLM(2007) and the workbook. I'm currently reading WLLM with great interest, but have some questions regarding the RIP allocations and the pertinence to my specific situation;

I'm in an accumulation (albiet late) phase and intend to be a bit more aggressive in building the nest egg...I'm still new to the ER/ESR concept but since I've actually put a focus on it and done some introspection, we've made good effort put some personal lifestyle changes into action on the homefront.

In my attempt to AA in a logical manner I initially intended to run an 80/20 equity/bond split - with those percentages further sub-divided among the classes as many here have mentioned and also put out in much of the recommended literature.

It has been suggested to treat my military pension as if they were bonds - --Is this to say I should probably be 100% in stocks for now and treat the pension as an equivalent of $900,000 in bonds ($36k x25)?? I am receiving my 2nd check in a couple days and miscalc'd the pension in my intro post since I didn't take VAcomp/CRSC into the amount I'm getting which is approx $1k month higher - which seems to make a significant difference.
--Am I looking at this pension/bond issue from the wrong angle??

Any suggestions from experience on determining AA of portfolio while taking the pension in account would be greatly appreciated...my initial instinct was to basically go with the RIP recommendations using only the equity breakdown for my current/foreseeable contributions - being a newbie on this front though I know instinct is not the way to go:confused: