Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Turbotax - can it estimate 2023?
Old 03-23-2023, 01:32 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
bltkmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fairfield County, CT
Posts: 451
Turbotax - can it estimate 2023?

I am using Turbotax Deluxe for my 2022 return. I would also like to be able to do some estimates of 2023 taxes (using my assumptions of 2023 taxable income). Can Turbotax do this and if so, where?
bltkmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-23-2023, 01:45 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
PaunchyPirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NW Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,513
I believe TurboTax download version has some "what if" features that can be used for this. I don't use that. But I have seen people on here mention it.

What I do with TurboTax download version for the upcoming year estimations, is this... After I'm done with it for 2022, for example, I create a copy of my return that I just filed and name it "2023 Estimations". Then I remove any data from that return if it was a one-time situation (i.e. it won't apply to next year). As the year progresses, I revisit this return and update it as desired to estimate the taxes for the upcoming year. Obviously, it won't reflect any tax law or table changes that happen for the upcoming year, but it's a decent estimation. As good as any, I guess.
PaunchyPirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 01:54 PM   #3
Moderator
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 23,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by bltkmt View Post
I am using Turbotax Deluxe for my 2022 return. I would also like to be able to do some estimates of 2023 taxes (using my assumptions of 2023 taxable income). Can Turbotax do this and if so, where?
In your current return, go Forms in the top of the window. Then click the Open Form button to get a list of forms. Scroll way down in that list to the What-If Worksheet. Open that and you'll be able to try out multiple hypothetical examples.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 02:09 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 35,251
TurboTax 2022 already does the safe harbor type calculations for you for 2023 estimated taxes based on a couple of inputs from you. I use this if I can.

You can also look ahead at possible total year income and taxes using the What-if worksheet and checking the use 2023 rates checkbox.

If you want the annualized income version of estimated taxes during 2023, Tubotax does not handle that for you. The what-if worksheet only does whole year calculations, not the annualized calcs by tax quarter. Maybe you could try applying the multiplication factors* and % to pay yourself. I just use my own spreadsheets if I elect to use that method.

*For example (more or less), first tax quarter due 4/15, multiply YTD AGI by 4 before calculating tax. Pay 22.5% of what’s owed. Second tax quarter, multiply YTD AGI by 2.5 before calculating tax. Pay 45% of what’s owed less first estimated tax payment. It gets complicated really quickly.
__________________
Retired since summer 1999.
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 03:06 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 6,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaunchyPirate View Post

What I do with TurboTax download version for the upcoming year estimations, is this... After I'm done with it for 2022, for example, I create a copy of my return that I just filed and name it "2023 Estimations". Then I remove any data from that return if it was a one-time situation (i.e. it won't apply to next year). As the year progresses, I revisit this return and update it as desired to estimate the taxes for the upcoming year. Obviously, it won't reflect any tax law or table changes that happen for the upcoming year, but it's a decent estimation. As good as any, I guess.
This is what I do. Another shortcoming is that if you're going to attain an age in the projection year that affects your taxes (e.g. I hit 70.5 this year so can make QCDs), TurboTax still thinks it's 2022 and won't reflect that.

As I get closer to the end of 2023 I'll update capital gains and losses by putting in dummy summary transactions. Same for mutual fund capital gain distributions. This kept me from making an Estimated Payment in December (I already had a refund coming due to lousy investment results) and allowed me to check the impact of various Roth conversion amounts.
athena53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 04:10 PM   #6
Moderator
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
In your current return, go Forms in the top of the window. Then click the Open Form button to get a list of forms. Scroll way down in that list to the What-If Worksheet. Open that and you'll be able to try out multiple hypothetical examples.
I have used TT for decades but I just started needing to estimate my taxes and just this year used the What If worksheet. It worked great. Itís pre loaded and it can model the next years tax law (look for the check box). It can also preload and run three additional scenarios.
__________________
Every day when I open my eyes now it feels like a Saturday - David Gray
Jerry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 04:19 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 19,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
In your current return, go Forms in the top of the window. Then click the Open Form button to get a list of forms. Scroll way down in that list to the What-If Worksheet. Open that and you'll be able to try out multiple hypothetical examples.
That's awesome, thanks!
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 50% equity funds / 40% bonds / 10% cash
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 07:44 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 11,014
I'm going to take another look at the what-if worksheet. I had problems being sure what it did in previous years so I just copied my whole return (as mentioned above) to a test file for the next year and tweaked things to match where I expected changes.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 08:07 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Coronado
Posts: 3,410
The usefulness of TurboTax's What-If form depends on the complexity of your return. I haven't played with it in a couple of years, but in the past it wouldn't handle things like increasing income changing the amount of your premium tax credit, or passive losses being limited by income. There was just one place to enter the credit and one place to enter the bottom line from Sched E rather than having them calculate on the fly as they do when you create an actual return.

Because of these limitations it wasn't very good at modeling how Roth conversions would affect our overall taxes. I got better info by copying our main file and just subtracting a year from each of our birthdates.
cathy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 08:16 AM   #10
Moderator
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by cathy63 View Post
The usefulness of TurboTax's What-If form depends on the complexity of your return. I haven't played with it in a couple of years, but in the past it wouldn't handle things like increasing income changing the amount of your premium tax credit, or passive losses being limited by income. There was just one place to enter the credit and one place to enter the bottom line from Sched E rather than having them calculate on the fly as they do when you create an actual return.

Because of these limitations it wasn't very good at modeling how Roth conversions would affect our overall taxes. I got better info by copying our main file and just subtracting a year from each of our birthdates.
Good point. My modeling was pretty simple. My only change was that me and DW both started taking SS in 2023 and I wanted to model that.
__________________
Every day when I open my eyes now it feels like a Saturday - David Gray
Jerry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 08:49 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 11,014
Thanks Cathy63. I just made my copy and adjusted everything. I concluded I need to change my pension withholding by a couple of hundred per month to get close to zero tax next year.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 08:55 AM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Everett
Posts: 1,298
I did as PaunchyPirate did, used the 2022 version to make a second return for 2023. My income is changing this year, so the amount on the estimated tax vouchers included with my 2022 return weren't accurate. I do have a spreadsheet for estimating taxes, but TT probably gets a few corners that I miss.
O2Bfree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 07:34 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dash man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Limerick
Posts: 5,163
I donít see the What-if worksheet, and I think it comes with a later update. Am I missing it?
Dash man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 07:40 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 35,251
I usually see it in the list of forms.
__________________
Retired since summer 1999.
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 07:53 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dash man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Limerick
Posts: 5,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
I usually see it in the list of forms.

I know where it is found. I just donít see it yet in the 2022 version.
Dash man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 08:07 PM   #16
Moderator
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 7,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dash man View Post
I know where it is found. I just don’t see it yet in the 2022 version.
It’s there. I have numbers in mine already. I have the Deluxe version.


ETA - I have the desktop version.
__________________
Every day when I open my eyes now it feels like a Saturday - David Gray
Jerry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 08:10 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Coronado
Posts: 3,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dash man View Post
I know where it is found. I just donít see it yet in the 2022 version.
It's in the Windows desktop version. I find it by typing "what" in the search as in the attachment.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screenshot 2023-03-26 190739.png (21.7 KB, 16 views)
cathy63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2023, 08:17 PM   #18
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 11,014
Ditto. I see the What if worksheet in Deluxe desktop for Windows.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 10:32 AM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dash man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Limerick
Posts: 5,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
I usually see it in the list of forms.

Okay, I found it. I usually find it populated in the Federal Forms listed on the left. When I opened Open Forms and searched I found it. I think old age is catching up with me.
Thanks everyone for your help.
Dash man is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbotax vs Turbotax mpeirce FIRE and Money 40 04-15-2021 07:46 PM
TurboTax has a ACA subsidy calculator if you need an estimate. grasshopper Health and Early Retirement 5 10-05-2013 05:45 AM
Can You Tell Me Whether this is a Competitive Estimate for Electrical Work. nico08 Other topics 8 11-28-2012 04:38 PM
Can Someone Estimate the Cost of Repairs based on an Inspection Report? nico08 Other topics 12 10-03-2012 04:22 PM
Social Security estimate now vs. actual Telly FIRE and Money 8 05-15-2003 02:56 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.