TurboTax vs TaxAct accuracy

braumeister

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Site Team
I've been using TurboTax for many years, and have always been pretty satisfied. I used it again this year, but thought I'd try TaxAct side-by-side with it, to see whether I might like it better.

Entered the exact same data in both applications, and there was only one significant difference. TaxAct showed that I'd get a larger refund from the state than TurboTax did.

That sounded great, but on further investigation, I found that TaxAct was giving me a credit I didn't qualify for, and that would have probably raised a flag at the state tax office. Looking into the help file, TaxAct explained the line correctly (not authorized for me), but gave it to me anyway.

On the whole, I found TurboTax slightly easier to use (I enter everything manually instead of downloading info), and certainly more accurate on this one item.

So despite the higher cost, I guess I'll continue with TurboTax.

I've been using TurboTax for many years, and have always been pretty satisfied. I used it again this year, but thought I'd try TaxAct side-by-side with it, to see whether I might like it better.

Entered the exact same data in both applications, and there was only one significant difference. TaxAct showed that I'd get a larger refund from the state than TurboTax did.

That sounded great, but on further investigation, I found that TaxAct was giving me a credit I didn't qualify for, and that would have probably raised a flag at the state tax office. Looking into the help file, TaxAct explained the line correctly (not authorized for me), but gave it to me anyway.

On the whole, I found TurboTax slightly easier to use (I enter everything manually instead of downloading info), and certainly more accurate on this one item.

So despite the higher cost, I guess I'll continue with TurboTax.