Turbotax vs Turbotax

mpeirce

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Two things keep me from completely ditching the Mac. Quicken and TurboTax.

Starting a new thread so as not to hijack the other one..

How does the Turboxtax application compare with the web version?

I've been using a CPA for taxes for a long time and since life is getting a little bit simpler I used the Turbotax website last year. Seemed to work well.

What are the advantages to the app?

Never heard of the app. I'm intrigued :popcorn:

The TurboTax app I have used was very simple and only good for rough estimates.

So is maybe the reference to using Turbotax being better on a laptop referring to using it in a browser?

I’ve been using TurboTax for more than 20 years and have never used the web based version. I am not sure how it compares to the app though so I can’t answer the OP’s question.

I always used the CD version (I assume that's the app?) instead of the cloud (web) version. For privacy. Then two years ago the CD version began seizing up, wouldn't update, a plethora of problems. Help desk directed be to the cloud version for free, since the disk version was messed up. So I used that the last two years. I'm not sold on it. I was thinking of going back to the CD version. But if they don't keep that updated properly, I'm a little concerned about that.

Ditch Turbotax. Use Taxhawk, it's better and free for federal returns. Yes, it's free, and no, there is no catch.

I’ve used the web version for several years. Works fine for me. I think many people are concerned about data security and prefer the software on their computer. I’ve blindly trusted the web version to be okay in that regard, and as the optimist who jumped off the building said, so far so good.