Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-05-2020, 02:39 PM   #61
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
BigMoneyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nomadic in the Rockies
Posts: 2,719
The problem for me isn't the "new system", it's that they're trying very hard to force me to open a brokerage account with them.

I've worked for two different financial institutions in the past 5 years that aren't Vanguard, and because I was an IT person with potential access to potentially sensitive stuff, I couldn't have brokerage accounts with other firms. But they allow you to keep fund-only accounts with funds from that provider. (This is SEC stuff, not the company just being proprietary.)

I'm currently retired, but if I felt the need to go back to work it would most likely be one of these two other financial institutions where I'd again be prohibited from maintaining outside brokerage accounts.

I've had most of my money at Vanguard for almost 30 years, and I had intended to roll two more non-VG 401(k)s into a VG IRA between jobs, but even then I couldn't open a new non-brokerage account, so Vanguard has about half as much of my money as they could have.

So now I'm going to go ahead and switch...so I can buy ETFs and then transfer them in-kind out of Vanguard and close my accounts.

Because I don't want to be forced in 2022 or whatnot if I'm working again to have VG put a check in a mail and take me out of the market for a couple of weeks while I get compliant.

I only recently realized that once I switched to a brokerage I could avoid the out-of-market-because-check-in-mail scenario I've always dreaded. Because as far as I can tell, ETFs can be transferred between institutions in-kind.

Congrats, Vanguard: you played yourself!

Edit: Huh, I opted out of the "transition your account" emails a couple of years ago, and the old email's "transition" link doesn't work. And VG hasn't hounded me on the site to "upgrade" in a while. I can't even find an option *anywhere* to transition my rollover IRAs. People talk about an "upgrade" button on the balances and holdings page, but I have no such thing.
BigMoneyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-06-2020, 03:55 AM   #62
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by HNL Bill View Post
You just go to My Accounts, Open an Account. You can open as many accounts with the same SS or EIN as you want. Unfortunately, you can't name them, so you may end up with several brokerage accounts identified as:

Name - Brokerage - Account #

Each account can hold the same assets (ETFs or MFs) as the others, or can hold different assets. I hold VTI, VOO, VEA, and VUG in multiple accounts, for instance.
Sounds like a nightmare for keeping track of what might be wash sales, since the income is to the same person.
Bongleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 03:58 AM   #63
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeb-NY View Post
If you're an active trader you need to leave money in the settlement account.
Not a trader. Just wanted to buy the ETF instead of the Fund, so I had to create a Brokerage account. Then discovered I could not buy the ETF by paying for it with cash or a sale of something from the Fund side -- the money had to clear & THEN days later be put into the Brokerage side settlement fund. PIA.
Bongleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 05:43 AM   #64
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL & Vermont
Posts: 29,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongleur View Post
On the 15th of... March? The day ETFs were selling at a discount to NAV -- I wanted to buy one, and I had a brokerage account as well as the Fund account. They would not let me buy, because I had no money in the brokerage settlement account.

They made me do a separate transaction to sell from the Fund account and transfer to the brokerage account -- and it took DAYS for the money to get there.

Sucks.
WADR, your problem or naivete and not theirs. You expected to be able to buy with no money? Lack of proper planning on your part... not on them.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...target 65/35/0 AA TBD
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:31 PM   #65
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
WADR, your problem or naivete and not theirs. You expected to be able to buy with no money? Lack of proper planning on your part... not on them.
[MOD EDIT] I can buy Fund A and pay for it by selling Fund B simultaneously. The problem is separation of the Fund and Brokerage elements.
Bongleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:34 PM   #66
Administrator
Gumby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 16,732
MOD NOTE -- If we must disagree, let us not be disagreeable about it.
__________________
Living an analog life in the Digital Age.
Gumby is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:45 PM   #67
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL & Vermont
Posts: 29,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongleur View Post
[MOD EDIT] I can buy Fund A and pay for it by selling Fund B simultaneously. The problem is separation of the Fund and Brokerage elements.
You would run into the same issue if you had two brokerage accounts with any of the major brokerages... say a joint account and an individual account... the account that you want to transact in has to have enough cash available for the offered trade. Just the way it works.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...target 65/35/0 AA TBD
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:53 PM   #68
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongleur View Post
[MOD EDIT] I can buy Fund A and pay for it by selling Fund B simultaneously. The problem is separation of the Fund and Brokerage elements.

You can do that in the brokerage platform just the same as you can at other brokerages. Same fund family and exchange.
FDC319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 01:58 PM   #69
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sarasota, FL & Vermont
Posts: 29,438
FDC319, you're right if he had Fund A in a brokerage account he could have sold Fund A and then purchased ETF B... no problemo.

I think the problem that he ran into was that he had Fund A in a fund account and wanted to buy ETF B in his brokerage account and they wouldn't let him do it because he didn't have enought money for the purchase in his brokerage account until he sold Fund A in the fund account and transferred the proceeds to his brokerage account.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...target 65/35/0 AA TBD
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 02:22 PM   #70
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongleur View Post
...the money had to clear & THEN days later be put into the Brokerage side settlement fund...
Not sure about Vanguard, but at Fidelity, I would have transferred the mutual fund shares to the brokerage account and then sold them. At that point (or maybe end-of-day), the proceeds from sale are immediately available for investment in the ETF. It's not available for withdrawal for a few days, but it is immediately available for investment.

Does Vanguard not use the concept of "cash available for investment"? Do you really have to wait for it to be available for withdrawal in order to purchase another security?
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 03:11 PM   #71
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra9777 View Post

Does Vanguard not use the concept of "cash available for investment"? Do you really have to wait for it to be available for withdrawal in order to purchase another security?

I have both. They are almost identical in this aspect.



Vanguard:



Fidelity:
FDC319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2020, 04:25 PM   #72
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDC319 View Post
I have both. They are almost identical in this aspect...
That's what I thought. So the problem is that Bongleur didn't transfer the MF shares first and then sell. Kinda surprised that no one at Vanguard advised him/her to do that, based on the situation and desired outcome.

I posted earlier in this thread that we still have an old MF-only account at Fidelity that I've been intending to move. So I just called Fidelity and asked the rep, "What's the best way to move this money to a regular brokerage account so I can buy an ETF with no delay?" He said, "Transfer the MF shares in kind to the brokerage account, then sell, the proceeds will be immediately available for trade into whatever ETF you want."
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 02:00 PM   #73
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
BigMoneyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nomadic in the Rockies
Posts: 2,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMoneyJim View Post
Huh, I opted out of the "transition your account" emails a couple of years ago, and the old email's "transition" link doesn't work. And VG hasn't hounded me on the site to "upgrade" in a while. I can't even find an option *anywhere* to transition my rollover IRAs. People talk about an "upgrade" button on the balances and holdings page, but I have no such thing.
In case anyone is in a situation similar to me where you want to move to the new system now (and doesn't have a recent "transition" button), I just opened a brokerage account by clicking on stuff about stocks & ETFs, and after the brokerage account was open my fund-only-account IRAs then had "upgrade" links on the balances page.
BigMoneyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 08:27 AM   #74
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,486
Ahh, Vanguard - just got off the phone with them today. I had an employer IRA that had contracted with Vanguard to manage their employee retirement accounts. I also have a personal SEP IRA with Vanguard. I no longer work for said employer and in the process of consolidating my financial matters before I pull the plug for good (yes - really retire!!!) I wanted to rollover said employer IRA to my SEP IRA.

That took a 30-45 minute phone call with two VG reps because there is a 'wall' between the financial support personnel. I also had to sign a document and send it via snail mail to VG so they could then cut a check and internally mail it to the other VG side. I currently live overseas, so this is taking some time and the funds are in 'limbo.'

Today I get an email that says the funds will be deposited into the MMF? huh? The settlement account is in the MMF. My SEP IRA is not invested in the MMF. I log in and see they've opened a MMF in my SEP IRA. I waited several hours to call them (I'm six hours ahead).

Here's their explanation: because you did not 'explicitly state' you wanted those employer IRA funds to go to the fund you have in your SEP IRA, we had to place it in the MMF.

I was not happy and let them know it. In the 30-45 minutes phone call and in the documentation I signed, it did not state that I had to explicitly state I wanted those funds to go into the current fund chosen for the SEP IRA. I would assume they would put the funds in what is there now as a default unless I specified otherwise (I only have one fund in the SEP IRA - a Target Retirement fund).

So, I now have to wait another day, exchange the funds from that MMF to the other fund I have and that will happen the next day.

Now I need to go over to the "I'm not happy with USAA thread" and complain there as they are doing silly stuff, too....

Wow, I can see how all of your time as a retiree could be taken up with these issues and them complaining about them on a board... ;-)
__________________
Deserat aka Bridget
“We sleep soundly in our beds because rough men stand ready in the night to visit violence on those who would do us harm.”
deserat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 10:27 AM   #75
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
BigMoneyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Nomadic in the Rockies
Posts: 2,719
Some of the "settlement fund" thing may be some new-ish rules that I can't now remember, but that doesn't erase the fact that all easy, well-documented Vanguard actions lead you to having more money in one of their brokerage accounts.

My first transition from fund-only to brokerage completed today, and in the process they deleted the linked bank account I spent the last several days setting up.

Getting money *out* of Vanguard is proving very difficult for me. With two different credit unions, they'll happily take money out and put it in Vanguard but want some notarized document from my institution before they can put funds back there. The bank they just deleted was another brokerage account I have that I *think* I was actually going to be able to EFT out of Vanguard to. Something I need now that I'm living off my retirement funds.

In fact the whole reason I'm enabling the brokerage account now is so that I can buy ETFs which can be transferred in-kind to another firm where getting hold of my money isn't nearly as hard. (And I don't currently have restrictions on multiple brokerages.)

For what it's worth, I'm unable so far to link my Fidelity accounts to my bank accounts, too. But the firm I'm consolidating to happily moves money from *and to* my credit union checking account from which I pay all my bills.
BigMoneyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 11:12 AM   #76
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in the mud somewhere in the NJ swamp
Posts: 7,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by deserat View Post
Now I need to go over to the "I'm not happy with USAA thread" and complain there as they are doing silly stuff, too....

Wow, I can see how all of your time as a retiree could be taken up with these issues and them complaining about them on a board... ;-)
Seems like there's at least one financial and one healthcare silly twist each week.
Good luck with yours!
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 09:22 AM   #77
Recycles dryer sheets
template's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 184
I have several Vanguard mutual funds and do no trading. I tried to transition to the new Vanguard platform, but the transition process asked me questions which I don't want to answer. One of them was to enter my annual income.

I hope to remain on the old platform for as long as I can.
__________________
Retired in 2001 at age 49.
template is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 09:56 AM   #78
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
GTFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1,071
You can enter any number you want, it's not a big deal.
GTFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2020, 12:53 PM   #79
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Sector 001 - Alpha Quadrant
Posts: 121
This is a bad move on Vanguard's part. I work for another brokerage firm and would have to go thru the hassle of getting approval to open a brokerage account elsewhere. Not the case with mutual fund only accounts.

I used to be able to buy admiral shares at Vanguard and then transfer them in to my employer's brokerage account. No costs involved. I can't do that anymore and Vanguard will not make any exceptions and allow me to open a MF only account
Ncc1701 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mattress Suggestions For Platform Bed ownyourfuture Other topics 17 01-11-2019 03:31 PM
Platform beds? Sarah S Other topics 23 11-15-2017 08:56 AM
Platform for all Health Care Debate region2 Health and Early Retirement 4 08-12-2009 06:02 PM
Global trading platform mountaintosea FIRE and Money 2 02-24-2007 05:26 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.