Variables for withdrawing in ER?

bo_knows

Recycles dryer sheets
ER folks, I'm fairly new to these forums, and being only 30 years old, this has been a great boon of knowledge for me.

I've been doing a lot of calculations based on our savings rates and a lot of other things, and I love love love creating big projection spreadsheets. I can easily project how my 401k, IRA, and taxable accounts will grow over the years based on contribution rates relative to my income, estimated returns, inflation, etc. What I am NOT good at is trying to figure out the variables in withdrawing that money in early retirement.

Assuming that my wife and I have a balance in 401k's, IRA's, and some taxable accounts, what are the tax implications that I need to look at if I'm withdrawing before age 59.5? I understand that you can avoid the 10% early withdrawal penalty for IRA's by doing a SEPP, but from what I understand, you can't take out significant amounts (say, enough to yield $40k in todays dollars). Also, I am not good with tax rates and such... what should I look into to determine how withdrawing $40k from retirement accounts will ACTUALLY cost me after taxes and such?

Also, I would love a bit of clarification on the SEPP. After reading more, it looks like you can in fact get bigger distributions. The calculator I used implied that you have to take IRA funds and put it "into" a SEPP account for distribution. So, if I had say $1M in an IRA, and wanted to benefit from SEPP distributions, do you have to set up a certain amount of that money to be off limits until you reach 59.5? Or can I take full SEPP distributions AND withdraw with a penalty if I need to? I ask because it seems that it'd be really hard to get full benefit of SEPP if your budget wasn't EXACT.

-Bo

Last edited:
If you love spreadsheets, you can become good with tax rates and such by setting up a spreadsheet that duplicates the math in a 1040.