VG Dividend Growth vs. VG Russell 1000 Growth ETF

Looking4Ward

Full time employment: Posting here.
I've been holding Vanguard Dividend Growth (VDIGX) for a few years and am thinking of replacing it with Vanguard Russell 1000 Growth ETF (VONG).

In side by side comparisons, VONG seems more attractive to me with lower fees, higher historical return, similar risk, etc.

Curious what anyone else's thoughts are.

Thoughts:

1) "Past performance does not predict future results." Mountains of studies show this. Look for S&P "Manager Persistence Report Card." A couple decades of these semiannual reports always reach the same conclusion. Also good short video here: French on picking a manager: https://famafrench.dimensional.com/videos/identifying-superior-managers.aspx

2) Making sector bets is a mild form of gambling.

3) A fund restricting itself to dividend-payers inherently restricts its investing options and will almost certainly underperform relative to an appropriate market benchmark.

Thoughts:

1) "Past performance does not predict future results." Mountains of studies show this. Look for S&P "Manager Persistence Report Card." A couple decades of these semiannual reports always reach the same conclusion. Also good short video here: French on picking a manager: https://famafrench.dimensional.com/videos/identifying-superior-managers.aspx

2) Making sector bets is a mild form of gambling.

3) A fund restricting itself to dividend-payers inherently restricts its investing options and will almost certainly underperform relative to an appropriate market benchmark.

I get #1 and #2. Thanks for #3, that's the sort of advice I was looking for.

Maybe I could just split my holdings in half between the two? This is in a tIRA that I won't be drawing from for at least another ten years.

Last edited:
Thoughts: