Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Wasting Soap - I've Been Doing it for 30+ Years!!!
Old 03-20-2010, 09:18 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Wasting Soap - I've Been Doing it for 30+ Years!!!

Maybe I'm the last person to figure this out, but I did the washing machine experiment below and the results were surprising! We use the recommended amount of soap or less, always. So I just washed one clean bath towel in hot water for five minutes without adding any soap - and the suds were unbelieveable! I will probably cut my laundry soap spending in half if not much more...jeeeeeeeez.

Yahoo! Finance - Business Finance, Stock Market, Quotes, News

Quote:
Here is Mr. Schmidt's test to determine if you're oversoaping. Take four to six clean bath towels, put them in your front–loading washing machine (one towel for a top loader). Don't add any detergent or fabric softener. Switch to the hot water setting and medium wash and run it for about five minutes.

Check for soap suds. If you don't see any suds right away, turn off the machine and see if there is any soapy residue. If you see suds or residue, it is soap coming out of your clothes from the last wash.

"I've had customers that had to run their towels through as many as eight times to get the soap out," Mr. Schmidt said, who lives in Indiana. He offers other handy advice on his Web site, refrigdoc.com.

Target AA: 50% equity funds / 45% bonds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 1.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!