Join Early Retirement Today

What would you do???
Old 09-22-2013, 10:16 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

What would you do???

Hello… I have a couple of questions to bounce of you FIRE experts.

First question: I’m sitting on 32% cash, 8% bond and 60% equities in my total portfolio. The main reason for the flood of cash is I ER’ed this year and I had to cash out of company stock and took the lump sum payout from the pension plan. I do not subscribe to market timing, but I do feel that the markets may be getting ahead of themselves and we may see a 10-15% pullback in the near future. I know that I cannot continue to be 32% cash and archive my 6% average return rate and keep up with inflation. I can think of only 3 options for moving my cash positions into equities & bonds: 1) Cost dollar averaging, 2) Buy on dips or 3) Move all at once. I have been doing cost dollar averaging for the past 25 years and do not consider myself a trader or an expert on markets. Any suggestions or strategies that have worked for you?

Second question: 20% of my total portfolio that is still in the companies manage fund (their contributions) which tends to be on the conservative side (up 8% YTD). I plan to roll it over into my IRA account so I will have more control of how it gets invested, but again this will become cash and then I’ll have to decide how & when to put it back to work in equities & bonds (refer to first question J). There is no time requirements for me to move these funds, but I’m thinking I should do it at some point. I just do not know what is the best strategy for doing this given where the market is at right now.

What would you do??
bradaz2488 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!