Where to park large amount of money? Bond Strategy?

PaloAlto

Dryer sheet aficionado
I recently left the W2 world with a significant severance. That and a habit of having significant cash reserves has now upped our cash holdings to around $600K. They are currently spread over 4 accounts but none of them earn more than 1%.

Our other holdings (pre-tax and post tax) amount to around $4M and are all in well diversified stocks and stock funds, so I was thinking this might be a good time to build up some bond holdings (say around $400K, leaving $200K for our emergency fund) but I have no experience in doing that. We have significant invested assets in both Vanguard and Fidelity so funds by either of these companies would work.

I am primarily looking for relatively safe funds that return better than 1%. Eventually, if there is a market crash, we would use these funds to buy more equities - this was a good strategy for us post 2008 and I wish we had $600K then - only had $100K which I put right in! Any advice from the more experienced investors on how to go about it would help. Tax efficiency is a bonus - we live in California and are top tax bracket so our marginal rates are over 50% :(

Thanks in advance!

Look at vanguard short term investment grade (or depending on your time frame intermediate or long term) (avg maturity short i 3.1 intermediate 6.1 long term 23.3 years)