Join Early Retirement Today

Who should live in the "Coffeehouse"
Old 01-14-2007, 03:11 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Who should live in the "Coffeehouse"

I have been reading lately about the so-called coffeehouse portfolio. Old hat I know, but I am new to this game.

For those that don't know, the portfolio is structured as follows:

40% TOTAL BOND MARKET
10% LARGE CAP
10% LARGE VALUE
10% SMALL CAP
10% SMALL VALUE
10% REIT
10% INTERNATIONAL

Seems like a well-rounded diversified portfolio. Low cost, easy to set up and manage and can structure it in the most tax-efficient way possible.

My question is, is this type of portfolio appropriate at all stages of life. Is it meant for retirees, those saving for retirement or both? Is this a portfolio I could use for life. I am 30 and want to retire in 20 years.

I would describe myself as having moderate risk tolerance.
carlg1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Who should live in the "Coffeehouse"
Old 01-14-2007, 03:16 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post