Join Early Retirement Today

Why do so many retailers fail?
Old 09-26-2008, 11:50 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Why do so many retailers fail?

I'm not an expert on retail, but it seems like an unbelievably tough business, I wonder why so many fail. Why so many have the same strategy, or similar strategies.

-Very few seem to last more than one business cycle. Look at all the companies that are recently bankrupt...mrs fields, sharper image, etc.

-In some industries, it seems like no one breaks out and makes money (i.e. toys, toys r us, kbtoys, fao schwartz).

-Tastes are very fickle (look at fashion). I go to the mall and look at gap, j crew, abercrombie, banana republic...what seperates them? It would make me nervous if I was an investor or shop owner.

-Seems like so many of them are all the same...same level of service, same selection, following the same trends. Same store layouts.

None of them really stand for anything. Remember Circuit City's, "Service is state of the art?"

-Then on the demand side. If consumer credit goes down, or wages go down. Or the loss of big employers in the city where you are.

-Or changes in how you shop...indoor malls vs outdoor, lifestyle malls.

Any successful retailers here? Or investors. Thoughts on the industry as a whole?
John23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!