Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Would you call me FIRE'd after I do this?
Old 09-12-2012, 11:22 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Would you call me FIRE'd after I do this?

Ok, we have not done it yet...but getting very close (within months).

Wife and I both have high-paying MegaCorp jobs and are getting burned out. I'm 50, she's 54. Two years ago I suggested two options for either of us.

1) Work 4 more years at our current pay, and never need to work another day in our lives
2) Get a lower-paying, fewer hours, less stressful career soon, and then work about 5-6 years from that point.

I chose #2...and I'm close to making the switch. She has chosen #1, and is still hard at it.

I currently work in corporate finance, Treasury to be specific. I've been doing various Corporate Finance roles for 18 years, and my MBA has paid off quite nicely in many ways: good assignments, interesting work, challenging things to improve, contributions to the company, and pay.

But about two years ago I started feeling like life was getting away from me. I would go on vacation, but sleep much of the time. I was too tired to go out with friends, and some of my hobbies layed dormant. So we developed a plan, and I've spent the past two years researching alternatives.

I had it narrowed down to 2 things, and ultimately I've chosen to become a home inspector. I would work for an existing inspector, so I'd be a sub-contractor. We have already agreed verbally on all aspects, we're drafting a contract together, and I'm about 3/4 of the way through all the education/certifications to do inspections, radon testing/remediation, termite inspections, and so on. Once I get certified in my state in about 6 weeks...I'll give notice at MegaCorp and begin the new life.

Why do I like this idea?
1) I love working with my hands, and have hobbies such as woodworking and automobiles.