Class of 2018

I had been expecting to reach FI last year and the RE at start of 18. DW and I had not gotten on the same page about tighter money and I gave up last fall and decided to keep at it until behavior mods started working. Slow progress but progress nonetheless. At the same time, I had told my boss last year that I thought the big project I have been running running so brilliantly since 2014 would be far enough along that I could hand it off to routine operations by mid 18. Late last year boss asks if I still wanted to roll off the project or would I consider taking over the routine ops because he had decided the guy there couldn’t handle it. I said ok as long as I get some leeway to dabble in some good stuff like AI, IoT, and Robotics/automation. He said “I will post a new job for routine stuff, Warranty on your project, and some R&D as well.”