Join Early Retirement Today

Am I Ready to Join Your Class?
Old 01-13-2019, 10:33 AM   #101
Full time employment: Posting here.

Am I Ready to Join Your Class?

Long post
Well, I’ve come full circle. I stumbled upon this site back in 2017 looking for an answer to “How much is enough?” Since I’ve been furloughed for 3 weeks now, I’ve really crunched the numbers and I think I’m ready to put those numbers out for feedback. My original plan was to RE in 2021 when I’m eligible for a small pension (12k) but the numbers I have say I can do it this year, as early as May to keep myself in the 12% bracket. I turn 55 this year (DW 54) and can start to pull from my 401(k).

I’ve been tracking monthly expenses for the last 5 years and subtracting the one-off expenses (such as wedding and DS’s college which is over with). 2018 expenses were right at 70k with some room to cut back.

Here’s my numbers:
Military Retirement, COLA’ed, 39k
VA disability, non-taxable, COLA’ed, 14k
DW SSDI, COLA’ed, 85% taxable, 8k
401(k), 100% equities in small and mid-cap index, 288k, 10-year performance >13%
tIRA, 90/10 AA generating 27k annually in dividends, 252k
Roth, started more than 5 years ago, 25k
Brokerage, tax-free, 20k
Combined tIRA, Roth and traditional 10-year performance > 13%

Medical is covered by Tricare. No CC (assuming I ever get paid), mortgage and car payments are included in the 70k expenses. No expensive hobbies (see “what we’re making”). Travel will be limited due to DW’s health. Live in a HCOL area but both adult DS’s bought houses locally so I don’t envision moving.