Help Me Out - What Can I Do When I Retire?

KingOfTheCheapos

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi All

So I can retire any day now but will stick it out for a few more years more to pump up post-retirement benefits in terms of health care and pension.

I'll be in my early 50's so want to continue to do meaningful work to keep me sharp and grounded.

So what do people suggest?

I don't want a full time job but 5,10,15 hours a week would be great.

My background is:

a) PhD in Computer Science
b) 5 years experience in Silicon Valley in the 2000's
c) Last 15 years in Academia
d) Live in CA but can/may move
e) Lots of experience giving presentations, managing a small team of students
f) I can teach well but am not a natural.
g) I have hobbies (biking, golf, investing) but nothing that's something I want to do each and every day.
h) My job involved lots of travel so I will travel but not that much.

Last edited:
Do you have any hobbies or activities you like to do, not related to work? Said it here many times, you may have a job to retire from, but you need something to retire to. I think you are in that position of figuring out what to retire to.

As for things to consider:
1) Part time job doing something you enjoy, different than your computer stuff. Like maybe work in sporting goods store, or an arts place, or museum, or zoo, or ?? Lots of possibilities.
2) Volunteer helping a charity or two with your computer skills.
3) Travel can take up your desire to learn about new places.
4) Hobbies as mentioned above, get something you are interested in but never had time to get into seriously.
5) Become a mentor, organizations such as SCORE (Service Corps of Retired Executives) or similar to help younger persons starting out.

It really comes down to what you like to do, and find something that fits that. The beauty of retirement is you can work because you want to, not because you have to. So even if you work part time for real money, it is just for blow the dough type expenses.