Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Managing aches and pains
Old 02-15-2018, 06:23 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Managing aches and pains

At 51 I consider myself fortunate that I've been in good health and free of any significant aches and pains. That is until about a month ago.

I started playing pickleball last month, and now my feet hurt, my ankles hurt, I've had pain in my groin, my lower back and my upper leg. I've probably overdone it by playing up to six hours in one day, but in general I play for about two hours a day, maybe five days a week. Almost every time I play I end up hurting afterwards.

I've tried taking Aleve, and it works very well for about 6 hours, but when it wears off the pain comes right back. I've also just started taking a topical cream (Topricin), and I just purchased Penetrex cream but haven't tried it yet.

I always do about 10 minutes of stretching before I play. I was wearing lower end tennis shoes but just purchased a good pair of Asics court shoes to try out.

So for those of you who have had similar experiences, a few questions:

1) What have you done to manage the pain? What has been effective, what has not?

2) How do you determine if you are overdoing it? Do you play through the pain, or wait until it completely goes away before you start playing again?

I last played on Tuesday night, so I've been off the court now for 48 hours. On Tuesday my entire body ached, and Wednesday wasn't much better. Today I'd say I'm about feeling about 90%. In the past when the pain has been excessive I've taken 3-5 days off and it always seems to go away after the second or third day. So I know if I stop playing I'll probably be fine. But it's kind of addictive, so I'm hoping to find a way to play without it being so painful.
Ready is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!