No fixed address.....

LeatherneckPA

Recycles dryer sheets
Probably a pretty simple answer here, but how do y'all with "no fixed address" deal with things like "Sorry, we don't cash out-of-state checks" and receiving mail that you actually want in a timely manner?

After racking up over $35,000 of CC debt (which is almost paid off) I am deeply averse to the bloody things and have sworn them off forever. So if that's the answer, forget it.

Debit cards work for me so far.

When I first got a job in another country, I opened a bank account there for direct deposit with a debit card. I also have a credit card for business only, which I pay off religiously. But I have been in that trap, too.

As far as mail goes, I don't have a problem as I have a home base, but some have used their extended family for postmasters and others have used private mail box companies. This last can be expensive. I cannot recommend one as I have no personal experience with any.

The foilks who run this board:
http://members4.boardhost.com/Nayarit/
use a private mail operation. Go to their board and ask the question. (It is a fun board, too, about life in Mexico, specifically Tepic.)

Ed

I have a "fixed address" so that part doesn't apply to me, however the spending part does.

I haven't tried to write an "out-of-state" check since May 1987, in NYC. The store owner said it wasn't going to happen! Starting that day, and ever since, I use debit, credit, or cash....in that order.

The debit is the easiest.....don't have to fill in all that crap on a check....just sign the receipt....no bill to pay at the end of the month....just deduct the amount in your check register. I just have to stay aware of my bank account balance.....which helps me curb unnecessary spending! Also, using the debit card really helps me track my spending, so I know where almost every penny is spent! :)