One biggest "surprise" in retirement

Afternoon naps. Never did them. Never liked them. Went through every day with 6 hrs sleep. Now . . . a nap after lunch or around 4pm is the easiest thing in the world. Big surprise for me.

Exact opposite with me. While working I was an expert napper and when the kids were young they used to hate sitting next to me on a flight as I would be asleep as soon as the plane pushed back.

Biggest surprise is mom wanting to move in with us. :blush: Never particularly had a close relationship and i believe living 14 hours away has been a good thing. Still she is a widow and I feel an obligation to watch out for her. We compromised by agreeing that she should buy a house in my neighborhood once she sells her house up north.

Other than that the biggest surprise is my lack of ambition. Thought I would volunteer or find a part time paying job just to keep busy. Although I am occasionally bored, I am very reluctant to obligate my time on an ongoing basis. I love the ability to take off on a moments notice or do nothing at all for days on end.

First year of ER I volunteered, working 5 hrs a day, twice a week during tax season. I hated the commitment and haven't done it since.

Another is how much SS we will be getting in a few years. I planned the finances without trying to rely on SS but, in hindsight, this was a large mistake. It created needless financial worry during the market setback(s).

This is true for me too. For many years I stubbornly refused to acknowledge SS at all - I had the mindset that SS would never be there for me. Now that I'm approaching 53, I figure I darn well better receive at least something! It feels good, too, as it is a layer of security I wasn't really accounting for at the beginning of my ER.

freebird5825 said: