Join Early Retirement Today

Retired techies, are you still engaged in tech?
Old 02-16-2021, 08:00 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

When I was writing code for a living (a long long time ago), I was getting a little burned out. But I could still remember when coding was fun, and I was sure I'd find that fun again once I retired.

I surprised myself by having no urge to code. I took up other hobbies, and found them quite fulfilling for years.

Then one day, I wandered into a makerspace of sorts. I was there to do some woodworking, but there were a few techies around. And it felt like home.

So for the past couple years, I've been combining tech urges with woodworking and doing a fair bit of CNC routing, laser cutting, 3D modeling, etc.

And along the way, I fell in love again with tech stuff via Arduino, Raspberry Pi, robots, IoT, .... Dang. My passion has been totally re-kindled.

So I'm curious if this is an experience shared with others who have retired from tech. Is tech still a post-retirement passion for you?
twaddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!