Join Early Retirement Today

Talk me into it
Old 06-26-2020, 10:38 PM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Talk me into it

I’m 56, still working, 10M++, and can’t bring myself to retire. I know my DW and I are more than fine financially even with the chaos of the last few months. I could quit tomorrow.

My job is very demanding. I work in the tech industry where change is never ending. I’m no longer technical as I gave that up a while ago to be a leader and people manager. Most of the time I like the job but always feel behind, somewhat overworked, and stressed. I am feeling my ability to manage and stay on top starting to slip. I have an incredible job in many ways including great prestige, almost full autonomy, and pay that far exceeds my value add. My stress is self induced as I’ve never learned how to coast. I don’t believe that I could find another similar job elsewhere.

I don’t have any kind of plan for how I’ll spend my days in retirement. That is keeping me from quitting work. I’m very afraid that I’d instantly and forever regret giving up my great but somewhat overwhelming job for boredom and meaningless days.

My question is what did you do to proactively plan your retirement before you quit? Did you have similar concerns about leaving the working world when your self image is wrapped up in your career etc? How do you spend time now in retirement to give back to the world and have real impact?
dmva is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!