The Adjustment Period - What was it like?

Denverite

Recycles dryer sheets
OK so considering an early retirement this year. I'm 56 and single, and have been saving/reinvesting for 24 years and was also fortunate to make a set of inheritances. My unearned income (dividends) is close to 100K and that was my "I'm a free agent now" number.

The thing is.... I'm wondering what the post-retirement adjustment period is like. I've been in the salt mines full time for 29 years. The idea of having that much time on my hands is, well, kind of daunting.

I have a list of interests I intend to pursue, but the thought of it is still kind of foreign. So question to all of you veterans - what was the initial 3 - 6 months like? Did anyone get the "damn I should not have done this yet" feeling? And how long did it take before the non-working (at least full time) life started to feel more natural?

Let me know - thanks in advance.

It took me the time from the front door of the office to the time I got into my truck to adjust! I'm amazed almost every day at just how busy I am. As many have said before me, "How did I ever have time to go to work??" For me, the days just seem to fill themselves.

So how did I adjust to not getting up early every day? Or, having to take 6 a.m. flights going east? Or, not having to hit a quota every year? Or hating Sunday nights? Pretty easily

6 month-er here. Here's my spin. I never sat on my ass over the weekend. I always had big or small tasks needing my time. Those tasks included fishing and deer hunting, not just honey do stuff. In my slightly more than six months in retirement, I've yet to be bored or lacking something to do. But I might choose a hike in the mountains over painting the spare bedroom.

I think if you know how to fill your time today, you'll fill it tomorrow. Like many GalaxyBoy said, I had those same pressures. Once you jettison that BS, you will NEVER look back with fond longing.

Congrats and all the best!