Join Early Retirement Today

Trying To Get My Bearings In Retirement
Old 02-05-2021, 07:20 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Trying To Get My Bearings In Retirement

So I've been sort of retired now for 6 years. I say "sort of" because the truth of the matter is that I never truly totally retired.

6 years ago when I hit 51, I "retired in practice". I'm a dentist, and when my youngest went off to college I cut my hours back in my practice to 3 or 3.5 days a week and began to take frequent vacations. But I found that owning the practice while not actually being there full-time became burdensome, so I ended up selling the practice 3 years later at 54.

When I sold the practice I continued to help the new owner out for 2 days a week which quickly became 1.5 days a week, then 1 day a week. By the time I left the practice nearly 2 year later I was only going in a half day a week.

Knowing that I would be leaving my old office, I had ramped up my volunteering at a local charity clinic, providing care for the underprivileged. This went on for several months until COVID hit.

I then spent a few months hunkering down and doing nothing (like most of the rest of the world), and honestly, I can't say that I really enjoyed it. Then out of the blue a friend of mine called me and asked if I would be willing to help him in his struggling practice. I told him I would be willing to give him 1.5 days a week but would not want to work hard. He said "yes". So since June I have been helping him out.

But now I'm starting to wonder why I continue to press on. Part of it is because I enjoy being able to make an impact on this world as a dentist. In addition to the part time job, I still help out the charity clinic, and for many years I have been going on a few mission trips a year to serve in Central America and the Caribbean.