25, 87K networth.What to do with 65K in cash? Need a plan!

letsdothis

Dryer sheet wannabe
Thanks in advance!!

25, Single Filing Status, Graduate Student (fellowship income until May 2020), 0 dependents, US Citizen, Living in the Midwest

Would like to reach FI by age 35, but realize it may be later you never know where life will lead. In any case, the FI/RE lifestyle is something I always strive for. Hoping for first 100K by 2021!

I am currently attending graduate school for a masters to PhD in social work. Just finished the masters and early in the PhD process. Estimated graduation would be until May 2024 or May 2025…

As I consider my financial situation over the next few years, I realize as a grad student my income will be limited over the next few years, with it paying off in the future hopefully with good employment opportunities. Given that I hope to reach FI/RE, I also want to take into account whether, limiting my earning potential for various year will be worth it, if this will ultimately be helping me reach FI/RE over the longer term in contrast to leaving Now and earning a regular salary, saving even more, instead of studying all that time.

So those thoughts and considerations are taking place as I assess my situation and next steps. I am really looking to evaluate my current finances and develop my FI plan that I can use regardless of what I end up going with my education and the PhD. Anyways, this exercise may also help me worry less about my finances and feel okay with taking such a large pay cut while I get the PhD.