401(a) Defined Benefit Plan

Tykimeister

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm a state employee and I contribute 6% of my income to a 401(a) defined benefit plan. I have been doing this for 7 years now. I have been thinking about starting a different career path, maybe even moving to a different state, etc.

Since I am vested, what is the smart thing to do with the 401(a) if I am vested? I could leave the money there, let it grow, and get a retirement benefit when I am eligible. But reading on their website, my contribution only grows at 4% interest. Wouldn't I be better off rolling it into my IRA?

My IRA is a roth, so I don't know how that will affect rolling the 401(a) into it, since I haven't paid taxes on the 401(a). Would it be worth it to pay the taxes on the 401(a) and rolling it over into my roth IRA. Or maybe its not even possible? Or is just leave the 401(a) where it is now a better option but I don't know why?

My roth IRA is all S&P500 Vanguard Admiral Shares
I'm 30 years old.

Thanks!

The tax free compounding power of a Roth is quite valuable. I would only leave the 401a as it is if you really like an investment option there that you cannot get elsewhere. Is the 4% guaranteed? Would it rise in the future? It is not a bad fixed income return these days. Also consider if you prefer the convenience of reducing the number of institutions that you have to deal with to manage your money. You could ask Vanguard about the rollover if that is what you want.

While 4% interest with no interest rate risk and negligible credit risk is quite good, at 30 years old growth would be more valuable to you. If your 401(a) is 20% or less of the total (401(a) and Roth IRA combined) you might keep it as a fixed income alternative.

You should not transfer it to your Roth IRA as that would make the amount you transfer taxable income and you would have to pay taxes on it and it would likely cost you a lot unless you are in a low tax bracket.